Public Policy

AIAA Key Issues for 2013

The national AIAA Public Policy Committee is currently collecting suggested topics for AIAA’s 2013 Key Issues.  If you would like to submit input, please email Steve Howell.  The submission should include a proposed title, a short summary of the issue, and a proposed legislative recommendation.

Congressional Visits Day

Every spring, AIAA members – engineers, scientists, researchers, students, educators, and technology executives – come to Washington, D.C. to take part in AIAA’s Congressional Visits Day. We meet with national decision makers to discuss critical industry issues in civil aeronautics, civil astronautics, and defense.

What’s our goal? Through face-to-face meetings with members of Congress, congressional staff, key administration officials, and other decision makers, Congressional Visits Day raises awareness of the long term value that science, engineering, and technology bring to America.

You can participate in this important mission. Later this year, we’ll post post a link to  register for Congressional Visits Day, so you don’t miss out on this vital opportunity to have your Congressional representative hear your voice.

For more insight into the process, click here for our “How To” resource guide on preparing for a successful Congressional Visits Day.

2012 Election Candidate Questionnaire

Your PNW AIAA chapter sent out a questionnaire to 2012 state and Federal election candidates in our four state region to get their positions on aerospace policy and investment issues, including international competitiveness, R&D, infrastructure, workforce development and education.

Click here to see the questionnaire.

The questionnaire was sent to:


  • Suzan DelBene
  • John Koster
  • Rick Larsen
  • Dan Matthews: his response
  • Jamie Herrera Beutler
  • Jon T. Haugen
  • Doc Hastings
  • Mary Baechler
  • Cathy McMorris Rodgers
  • Rich Cowan
  • Derek Kilmer
  • Bill Priscoll
  • Jim McDermott
  • Ron Bemis
  • Dave Reichert
  • Karen Porterfield
  • Adam Smith
  • James Postma
  • Dennis Heck
  • Richard Muri
  • Maria Cantwell
  • Michael Baumgartner
  • Jay Inslee
  • Rob McKenna


  • Raul Labrador
  • Jimmy Farris
  • Mike Simpson
  • Nichole LeFavor
  • Oregon:
  • Suzanne Bonamici
  • Delinda Morgan
  • Greg Walden
  • Joyce Segers
  • Earl Blumenauer
  • Ronald Green
  • Peter DeFazio
  • Arthur B. Robinson
  • Kurt Schrader
  • Fred Thompson


If you’re attending candidate events, take the time to pose your questions of them about these and other issues affecting America’s place in aerospace now and into the future.